top of page

5th grade Math


I was in 4th grade but took 5th grade math. I began having a little trouble understanding it. I had homework but no-one who could help me was around, except my Mother. I knew enough of it to know she may not have known exactly what she was doing once she tried to help. She even called herself re-checking it for me. Inside, I felt I was getting an 'F'. The next day, I stayed up-front beside my teacher (Mr. Baldwin) as he looked at it & went down the paper marking checks with his red pencil & finally put an 'F' at the top & circled it. He handed it to me & just stared at me but all I could mumble was, "...and my Mama helped me with this...", as if that would gain me an 'A'. He said, "What?!!" But in an attempt to use my Mama as a shield, I held back my tears & said louder, "But my Mama helped me with this!" And he raised his voice & said, "Well, yo' Mama was wrong!!!" I was so embarrassed. All these 5th-graders were staring at the "4th-grade smart-boy that's in their class". I was crushed & wanted to cry & did later.

The point here is not to vent; After all, I passed his class. I still remember him & thank him so much for a very hard, but very valuable revelation behind it that I'd like to share with us as Believers: Some of the most 'credible', highly-esteemed, & influential people in your life whom we love so dearly can be wrong as 2 left shoes.

I had 2 choices: Find the right person so I could have the right outcome, or trust Mama who looked at that Math book like it was written in Hebrew saying, "We didn't do it like this in my day".

I knew I was wrong, though I trusted Mama's judgment, and many times we fight against the Truth we've been waiting on that's trying to better us because it sometimes contradicts what we were raised up on by family, friends, loved-ones, books, tv, songs, sunday school, etc. that may clash with what God says.

That's the wrestle Believers in the Kingdom of God have with the Truth of God many times because it challenges the credibility of what certain people said in our lives in the past whom we trusted.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page